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Study D-354 October 4, 1999

Memorandum 99-76

Homestead Issues (Comments on Tentative Recommendation)

This memorandum considers comments we have received on the Tentative

Recommendation on the Homestead Exemption , which was distributed last April.

Attached to this memorandum is a staff draft recommendation, which includes

some technical revisions in response to cite-checking.

We received comments from two attorneys:
Exhibit p.

1. Ronald H. Sargis, California Association of Collectors, Sacramento
(Sept. 14, 1999) ............................................ 1

2. Brian Holman, White & Case, Los Angeles (Email May 5, 1999)........ 8

Overview

The proposed law would make three important changes: (1) it would repeal

the homestead declaration procedure,  (2) it would adopt in homestead sales the

general rule that an enforcing lienholder need only satisfy senior liens and

encumbrances, and (3) it would continue a limited form of the voluntary sale

proceeds exemption in the “automatic” homestead procedure. Both writers agree

with the first goal, as has every other commentator in staff memory. They also

concur in the second revision, although Mr. Holman suggests some technical

clarifications. Mr. Sargis, on behalf of the California Association of Collectors

(CAC), disagrees with the need for or advisability of the third revision

concerning continuation of a limited voluntary sale proceeds exemption.

The background of the homestead exemption is set out in a distilled form in

the draft recommendation. Most of this material is the same as what appeared in

the Commission’s 1996 recommendation on the homestead exemption. (While

Mr. Sargis’s letter refers to the “Staff Recommendation” and the “renewed Staff

Recommendation,” it should be clear that the Commission approved the

recommendation submitted to the Legislature in 1996 and approved the tentative

recommendation that is the subject of this memorandum.)
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Automatic Homestead Exemption

Mr. Sargis expresses satisfaction with the “automatic” homestead exemption,

“contrary to the conclusion” of the tentative recommendation. The staff thinks

we are generally in agreement, however, that the automatic statutory exemption

in Code of Civil Procedure Sections 704-710-704.850 operates successfully to

protect judgment debtors from forced sale. It does this through a significant

homestead exemption amount ($50,000-$125,000), procedural protections (or

burdens, depending on one’s point of view), and the quirky requirement that “all

liens and encumbrances” be satisfied, not just senior liens and encumbrances. We

do not believe that the recommendation can be viewed as criticizing the utility of

the automatic exemption — in fact, by recommending repeal of the homestead

declaration, the recommendation relies on the continued vitality of the remaining

exemption statute. The “illusory protection” that is criticized in the

recommendation (see attached draft Recommendation, at 7) is the supposed

voluntary sale proceeds exemption under the declaration procedure, discussed

below.

Limited Voluntary Sale Proceeds Exemption

The crux of the CAC letter has to do with the six-month exemption for

proceeds of a voluntary sale (in the amount of the applicable exemption, based

on the law at the time the creditor’s lien attached). In recognition of the

practicalities and the balance between debtors and creditors, the Commission has

recommended merely continuing and generalizing the existing proceeds

exemption in the homestead declaration statute. The recommendation continues

the six month proceeds protection, which is consistent with other proceeds

exemptions in California, limits it to purchase of another dwelling in California,

and preserves existing lien priorities.

The CAC letter argues that the recommendation “destroys [the] balance of

power that drives judgment debtors and judgment creditors to consensually

resolve these obligations.” (Exhibit p. 3.) Apparently, the debtors are not

recording homestead declarations — or creditors are able to ignore the law and

the long-standing rights of debtors under the to a voluntary sale proceeds

exemption. The staff has yet to discover one anecdote from any debtors’ or

creditors’ attorney validating the effectiveness of the voluntary sale proceeds

exemption under the homestead declaration law. On the other hand, we have

been told there is no mechanism for its enforcement, since title companies merely



– 3 –

report recordations, and the lienholders can refuse to permit a sale to go forward

without satisfaction, notwithstanding the language of Section 704.960.

The CAC clearly doesn’t want to see an effective proceeds exemption, and

one approach the Commission should consider is to repeal the homestead

declaration statute without attempting to preserve (or resurrect?) a voluntary sale

proceeds exemption. Since, as Mr. Sargis discusses, the hard-pressed debtor can

use the threat of bankruptcy to negotiate with creditors, it is not as if debtors are

left completely defenseless. And, we might add, since it appears the existing

voluntary sale proceeds exemption is largely a dead letter, perhaps it is time the

statute was amended to recognize the existing state of affairs.

Mr. Sargis argues that a voluntary sale proceeds exemption would also be an

invitation to fraud. (Exhibit pp. 3-4.) The homeowner would sell to a friend or

relative at a depressed price to thwart creditors, with money or promises passing

under the table. The staff recognizes that this is a risk — it is a problem now, and

is not particularly related to the proposed law. Note that the sale proceeds are

not handed over to the debtor under the proposal. They are held for use in

purchase of a new dwelling in California within six months. The far greater

problem might be for a debtor to find financing and a sufficiently reckless lender

to enable purchase of a new home with $50,000 down. In addition, the creditor’s

lien and priority remain; it is not as if the lien is extinguished.

Mr. Sargis claims that the honest judgment debtor would be subject to an

“insidious problem,” since the proceeds would be tied up for as long as six

months. The staff doesn’t understand this point, since the proceeds would only

be tied up if the creditors won’t agree otherwise, and CAC has presented a model

in which creditors routinely deal in good faith with debtors who need to move

from one home to another.

Mr. Sargis argues that permitting the debtor to sell his dwelling and come out

with $50,000 puts him in far worse shape than if he comes out with little or

nothing (as under the existing state of affairs). Apparently, the debtor will now

be in a position where peddlers of reverse mortgages and equity loans will

ensnare him. (Exhibit p. 4.) We can’t disagree about the dangers of unscrupulous

lenders and mortgage brokers, but the staff does not follow the argument if it is

supposed to lead to the conclusion that the debtor is better off with no proceeds

exemption.

Mr. Sargis also suggests that “exemption consultants” would spring up if

there were an effective proceeds exemption, with a host of unsavory
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consequences. The staff wonders why this and the other concerns expressed by

CAC are not problems now, since we have had a voluntary sale proceeds

exemption in California for many years — it just requires prior recordation of a

piece of paper. Or is the truth of the matter that there is really no such exemption

because creditors can and do routinely ignore it? The CAC should be directing its

policy arguments against the existing proceeds exemption as well. (See, e.g., the

public policy discussion at Exhibit pp. 5-6.) Neither the Commission nor the

Commission staff invented this exemption. The question is what to do with two

inconsistent, overlapping statutes, one of which is highly confusing,

misunderstood, and the cause of a significant amount of litigation, particularly in

the bankruptcy context.

The Commission needs to decide on this fundamental policy issue: whether

to try to enact a limited and effective proceeds exemption, or to improve and

simplify the law by eliminating the voluntary sale exemption along with the rest

of the declaration procedure. The staff believes that the recommendation needs to

be made to the Legislature so that some resolution of these issues can be

achieved. Whether resulting legislation contains a voluntary sale proceeds

exemption or not, or some other approach emerges from the process, the existing

dual system should not continue.

Additional Protections

Mr. Sargis argues that the law should not impose additional court

proceedings, but at the same time complains that there is nothing in the

recommendation requiring the court to protect against depressed sales. (Exhibit

pp. 6-7, point D.) It might be beneficial to specifically authorize the court to

consider whether the sale is at fair market value, but the recommendation has not

attempted to invent a completely new scheme. The approach is to modify the

existing exemption procedures as needed to accommodate the proceeds

exemption, without creating burdensome procedures. It is hoped that the

existence of the procedure would act as an incentive to the parties to negotiate

and work together, as recommended in the first part of the CAC letter.

Lien Priorities

Mr. Holman is concerned that, in an execution sale, “properly perfected lien

creditors should not lose their place in line merely because they haven’t obtained

or levied a writ.” (Exhibit p. 8, point 2.) This is not a subject addressed by this
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recommendation. However, the general rule in execution sales, including sales of

real property since repeal of the right of redemption, is that senior liens are

satisfied (or the sale is conducted subject to such liens) and junior liens are

extinguished following the sale. The remedy of sold-out juniors, as in foreclosure

sales generally, is to bid at the sale or to redeem a senior lien. However, Section

701.810(g) provides that the levying officer is to distribute proceeds remaining

after higher priorities are satisfied to judgment creditors who have delivered

writs to the officer “or any other persons actually known by the levying officer to

have a claim, lien, or other interest subordinate to the judgment creditor’s lien

that is extinguished by the sale and that is not otherwise satisfied pursuant to this

section.” This would appear to be close to what Mr. Holman is suggesting.

Mr. Holman also argues “for the same reason” that junior liens should attach

to the proceeds of a voluntary or involuntary homestead sale, pending purchase

of a new dwelling.  (Exhibit p. 8, point 3.) If the proceeds are ever applied to the

satisfaction of the judgment, then the rules in Section 701.810 apply, including

the protection for junior lienholders just discussed. If they are not applied to

satisfaction of the judgment, then it is because they were used to purchase the

new dwelling.

Respectfully submitted,

Stan Ulrich
Assistant Executive Secretary
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Date: Wed, 5 May 1999 17:34:36 -0400
From: "Holman, Brian" <holmabr@la.whitecase.com>
Sender: "Holman, Brian" <holmabr@la.whitecase.com>
Organization: White & Case
To: comment@clrc.ca.gov
Subject: Tentative Recommendation concerning the Homestead Exemption
Importance: Normal
X-SMF-Hop-Count: 2
X-Rcpt-To: comment@clrc.ca.gov

Gentlemen: 

I am a lawyer frequently involved in debtor/creditor matters.

I have the following comments on the Tentative Recommendation concerning 
the Homestead Exemption (CLRC News Release April 30, 1999):

1. I concur in the Commission's recommendation that the declared 
homestead procedure be repealed and replaced by an automatic exemption 
for a portion of the proceeds of a voluntary sale of a homestead.

2. The proceeds of a judgment creditor's execution sale of a homestead in 
excess of the sum of the homestead exemption and the total of senior 
liens should be distributed first to the levying judgment creditor and 
then to junior lien creditors in the order of the priority of their 
liens, irrespective of whether any junior lien creditor has caused the 
levy of a writ of execution against the property or the proceeds of sale. 
 Properly perfected lien creditors should not lose their place in line 
merely because they haven't obtained or levied a writ.  Compare section 
727 of the California Code of Civil Procedure.

3. For the same reason, all junior liens should attach to the exempt 
proceeds of a sale (voluntary or involuntary) of a homestead pending the 
use of such funds to purchase a replacement homestead.  If the exempt 
proceeds of sale are later distributed because no replacement dwelling is 
purchased within six months, the proceeds should be distributed to the 
junior lien creditors in the order of the priority of their liens, 
irrespective of whether any junior lien creditor has caused the levy of a 
writ of execution against the property or the proceeds of sale.  Again, 
properly perfected lien creditors should not lose their place in line 
merely because they haven't obtained or levied a writ.   Compare section 
727 of the California Code of Civil Procedure and subdivision (a)(3) of 
section 2924k of the California Civil Code. 

Brian L. Holman, White & Case LLP, Los Angeles  213/620-7781
E-mail:  holmabr@la.whitecase.com 

1Printed for Stan Ulrich <sulrich@clrc.ca.gov>
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SUM M AR Y OF T E NT AT IVE  R E C OM M E NDAT ION

The Commission proposes repealing the declared homestead procedure and
amending the automatic homestead exemption to protect proceeds of a voluntary
sale on the same basis as other homestead proceeds are protected. Dwelling pro-
ceeds would be exempt in the amount of the homestead exemption for which the
debtor qualifies. The burden would be on the exemption claimant to prove qualifi-
cation for the exemption and the amount. Proceeds would be held in an exempt
account for six months for the purpose of purchasing another qualifying home-
stead or else applied to satisfaction of creditors’ liens. Consistent with the general
rule applicable to execution sales, the statute would be revised to require satisfac-
tion of senior liens and encumbrances, rather than all liens and encumbrances on
the property. Junior liens would be extinguished by an execution sale on a senior
lien.

The proposed revisions are intended to simplify a confusing statute that debtors,
creditors, lawyers, and both state courts and federal bankruptcy courts have trouble
understanding and applying. In the process of revision, the Commission has sought
to preserve the major benefit offered by the homestead declaration procedure and
the balance between debtors and creditors reflected in the current statutory
scheme.

This recommendation was prepared pursuant to Resolution Chapter 81 of the
Statutes of 1999.
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HOM E ST E AD E XE M PT ION

The Enforcement of Judgments Law1 contains two procedures relating to home-1

stead exemptions from enforcement of money judgments: the automatic home-2

stead exemption and the homestead declaration.2 This recommendation proposes3

repealing the homestead declaration procedure and preserving its primary benefit,4

the voluntary sale proceeds exemption, in the general automatic homestead exemp-5

tion. Additional technical revisions are also proposed.6

Background7

The California Constitution requires the Legislature to “protect, by law, from8

forced sale a certain portion of the homestead and other property of all heads of9

families.”3 But there is no requirement that the law provide a homestead declara-10

tion procedure. The procedure for implementing this constitutional mandate is11

determined by the Legislature.412

California has not always had a homestead declaration procedure. A claimed13

homestead procedure existed from 1851 until it was superseded by the declared14

homestead in the early 1860s.5 For over a century, the homestead was protected15

against money judgment liens only if the homestead declaration was recorded16

before the judgment lien. The principle of “first in time, first in right” was applied17

with drastic consequences to the tardy debtor. To protect families of debtors who18

failed to record the exemption before death, the probate homestead procedure was19

developed, permitting the court to declare an exemption.620

In 1974, the Legislature enacted a second procedure enabling a debtor who had21

not recorded a homestead declaration to claim an exemption when the dwelling22

was levied on under a writ of execution.7 The judgment creditor was required to23

1. See 1982 Cal. Stat. ch. 1364, operative July 1, 1983. The Enforcement of Judgments Law was
enacted on recommendation of the Commission. See 1982 Creditors’ Remedies Legislation, 16 Cal. L.
Revision Comm’n Reports 1001, 1009 (1982).

2. See Code Civ. Proc. §§ 704.710-704.850 (“automatic” homestead exemption), 704.910-704.995
(declared homesteads). (All further statutory references are to the Code of Civil Procedure, unless otherwise
indicated.) The homestead declaration procedure is not complete, incorporating many substantive pro-
visions of the automatic homestead exemption. See Sections 704.910(c) & (e), 704.950(c)(2), 704.960(a),
704.965, 704.970(b), 704.995(c). The Commission recommended repeal of the declared homestead in favor
of the automatic homestead in its 1980 report. See Tentative Recommendation Proposing the Enforcement
of Judgments Law, 15 Cal. L. Revision Comm’n Reports 2001, 2090-93, 2611-12 (1980). The Commission
again recommended repeal in its recommendation on the Homestead Exemption, 26 Cal. L. Revision
Comm’n Reports 37 (1996). This recommendation is a revision of the 1996 recommendation.

3. Cal. Const. art. XX, § 1.5.

4. See, e.g., Noble v. Hook, 24 Cal. 638 (1864).

5. For detailed background on the history of the exemption, see Taylor v. Madigan, 53 Cal. App. 3d
943, 126 Cal. Rptr. 376 (1975); Adams, Homestead Legislation in California, 9 Pac. L.J. 723 (1978)
(prepared by Commission consultant).

6. See Taylor v. Madigan, 53 Cal. App. 3d 943, 968, 126 Cal. Rptr. 376 (1975).

7. See 1974 Cal. Stat. ch. 1251, superseded by a revised but similar procedure, 1976 Cal. Stat. ch. 1000.

– 1 –



Staff Draft Recommendation • October 4, 1999

petition for issuance of a writ of execution directed against the dwelling and give1

notice to the debtor who could then assert the exemption. This procedure was sub-2

stantially revised in the Enforcement of Judgments Law, enacted in 1982, resulting3

in the homestead exemption procedure in Code of Civil Procedure Sections4

704.710-704.850. The probate homestead was put on an independent footing,5

unrelated to the homestead declaration.86

Automatic Homestead Exemption7

The “automatic” homestead exemption — or dwelling house exemption, as it is8

also known — requires the judgment creditor to initiate court proceedings to9

determine whether the property is exempt and the amount of the exemption. Gen-10

erally where other property is levied on to enforce a money judgment, the debtor is11

given notice of levy and must make an exemption claim within 10 days.9 A credi-12

tor who levies on a “dwelling,”10 which may be an exempt homestead, may not13

have it sold to enforce a money judgment without first obtaining a court order for14

sale. The creditor must apply for the order for sale within 20 days after notice of15

levy is served on the judgment debtor.11 The judgment creditor’s application is not16

simple: the creditor must determine whether the county tax assessor’s records17

show a current homeowner’s exemption or disabled veteran’s exemption, must18

state on information and belief whether the dwelling is a homestead, the amount of19

the exemption, and whether there is a homestead declaration recorded, and must20

state the amount of liens and encumbrances and the address of other lien creditors21

and encumbrancers as shown in the recorder’s files.12 The creditor must give22

notice of the application, including personal service on any occupant, at least 3023

days before the hearing.1324

At the hearing, the creditor has the burden of showing the dwelling is not exempt25

if there is a tax exemption on file in the tax assessor’s office; otherwise, the burden26

is on the debtor to prove the exempt status.14 The property is appraised, and if it is27

of sufficient value, it is ordered to be sold. Notice of the sale cannot be given until28

at least 120 days after the notice of levy, thus affording an opportunity to avoid the29

sale.15 Ultimately, the homestead cannot be sold unless the bid exceeds the amount30

of the applicable homestead exemption plus the amount necessary to satisfy all31

liens and encumbrances on the property, and the price must be 90 percent of the32

8. See Prob. Code §§ 60, 6520-6528; Recommendation Relating to Probate Homestead, 15 Cal. L.
Revision Comm’n Reports 401 (1980).

9. Section 703.520.

10. A detailed definition of “dwelling” is set out in Section 704.710.

11. Sections 704.740-704.750.

12. Section 704.760.

13. Section 704.770.

14. Section 704.780(a).

15. Section 701.545. This delay affords an opportunity for the debtor to redeem from the lien.
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appraised value unless the court orders otherwise.16 Proceeds of a sale are dis-1

tributed first to pay off “all liens and encumbrances,” second to the debtor in the2

amount of the exemption, third to the levying officer for costs, and finally to the3

judgment creditor to apply to the judgment.174

This procedure is highly protective of debtors’ homesteads. It provides for mul-5

tiple notices, including personal service, built-in delays and a second-chance pro-6

ceeding, significant procedural burdens, appraisals with presumptive minimum7

bids, and evidentiary burden shifting. In light of these protections, there should be8

no need for a separate homestead declaration procedure.9

Modern Declared Homestead10

The minimal homestead declaration procedure that has existed since 1982 is11

largely a formality. A homeowner or spouse of a homeowner may record a home-12

stead declaration describing the principal dwelling. The declaration must be13

acknowledged in the manner of a conveyance of real property.18 Unlike its prede-14

cessor, the modern homestead declaration has no effect on the right to convey or15

encumber the property.19 Nor does it prevent creation of judgment liens,20 attach-16

ment liens,21 or state tax liens.2217

While the real homestead protection lies in the automatic exemption statute, the18

homestead declaration provides several distinct features that must be evaluated19

before the procedure can be repealed:20

1. Judgment lien attaches only to surplus value. Section 704.950 is a major21

source of confusion. Subdivision (a) provides that judgment liens do not attach to22

property subject to a prior homestead declaration, seemingly preserving the old23

shield rule. However, subdivision (a) is subject to the exception provided in sub-24

division (c), which provides that a judgment lien does attach to the surplus value25

of the property over all senior liens and encumbrances plus the homestead exemp-26

tion amount. Thus, the exception in subdivision (c) eats up the rule in subdivision27

(a).2328

16. Section 704.800.

17. Section 704.850.

18. Sections 704.920-704.930.

19. Section 704.940 & Comment.

20. Section 704.950(c).

21. Section 487.025.

22. Gov’t Code § 7170(a).

23. Subdivision (c) was added to Section 704.950 at the last opportunity when the bill was before the
Legislature, as is evident from the Comment which was not revised to reflect the final statutory language.

Two California Courts of Appeal have grappled with this part of the homestead declaration statute,
with contradictory results. In Teaman v. Wilkinson, 59 Cal. App. 4th 1259, 1262, 69 Cal. Rptr. 2d 705
(1997), the court interpreted Section 704.950 to mean that a judgment lien does not “attach” to the property
until a surplus equity develops. The court in Smith v. James A. Merrill, Inc., 64 Cal. App. 4th 94, 75 Cal.
Rptr. 2d 108 (1998), correctly interpreted the statute, concluding that a judgment lien attached to the prop-
erty under other law and that the homestead law governed the amount of the lien, not its priority in time.
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This section presents a conceptual conundrum. How can it be determined1

whether the judgment lien has attached? The amount of the homestead exemption2

can change, as well as the amount of senior liens. A judgment lien attaches to any3

property owned or acquired by a debtor in the county where the abstract of judg-4

ment is recorded; it is a “dragnet” lien and is not directed at particular property.245

How can it be determined when the lien attaches since the value of the property is6

unknown in the absence of a sale or appraisal? Section 704.950(a) provides that7

the lien does not attach, subject to the exception in subdivision (c). Subdivision (c)8

provides that the lien attaches to the surplus value, but does not say when the lien9

attaches. Arguably it attaches only when the surplus value exists. Section 704.96510

locks in the exemption amount at the time when the lien attaches, but when is that?11

This rule, then, does not appear to provide any clear advantage to the homestead12

declaration. Theoretically, it might be easier to sell real property free of the judg-13

ment lien if there were a prior homestead declaration recorded, assuming that the14

debtor’s equity in the property was agreed by all parties to be less than the home-15

stead exemption amount at the time of transfer. But this does not appear to be a16

practical advantage, and does not justify continuing the cumbersome and confus-17

ing homestead declaration procedure.18

2. Exemption of proceeds of voluntary sale. Section 704.960(a) protects the pro-19

ceeds of a voluntary sale of the homestead for six months after the date of sale.2520

The automatic homestead exemption protects proceeds of sale, but only where the21

homestead is sold at an execution sale, is damaged or destroyed, or is acquired for22

public use — in other words, not in the case of a voluntary sale.26 The proceeds23

exemption is limited, however, so that it does not include any increase in the24

exemption occurring after a judgment lien attaches.27 This is consistent with the25

Until the law is clarified, this confusion can be expected to continue in state courts and federal bankruptcy
courts. For bankruptcy cases, see, e.g., City Nat’l Bank v. Chabot (In re Chabot), 100 B.R. 18 (Bankr. C.D.
Cal 1989, aff’d, 131 B.R. 720 (C.D. Cal. 1991), aff’d, 992 F.3d 891 (9th Cir. 1993); In re Dodge, 138 B.R.
602 (Bankr. E.D. Cal. 1992); In re  Mulch, 182 B.R. 569 (Bankr. N.D. Cal. 1995); Jones v. Heskett, 180
B.R. 575 (B.A.P. 9th Cir. 1994), rev’d, 106 F.3d 923 (9th Cir. 1997).

24. See Section 697.340.

25. The voluntary sale proceeds exemption originated in 1911. See former Civ. Code § 1265, as
amended by 1911 Cal. Stat. ch. 45, § 1. The proceeds exemption remained essentially unchanged until it
was replaced by Section 704.960 in 1982. See 1982 Cal. Stat. ch. 497, § 8; 1982 Cal. Stat. ch. 1364, § 2.

26. See Section 704.720(b).

27. Section 704.965. This rule was added to the law in conjunction with a bill increasing the amount of
the homestead exemption. See 1984 Cal. Stat. ch. 454. The limitation in Section 704.965 is irrelevant to the
homestead exemption as applied in a forced sale by the judgment creditor. See Section 704.970(b). If a sec-
ond homestead is purchased with exempt proceeds limited by the rule in Section 704.965, it appears that the
exemption of voluntary sale proceeds from the second homestead would also be limited to the level locked
in by the order of recording the judgment lien and initial homestead declaration. Similarly, if the homestead
declaration had been recorded before any attachment or judgment lien, the debtor would have the benefit of
any increased exemption amounts based solely on order of recording.
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general rule that the amount of an exemption is determined according to the law in1

effect when the creditor’s lien attaches to the property.282

Under existing law, a sufficiently sophisticated debtor would simply record a3

homestead declaration before a voluntary sale of the home and thereby protect the4

proceeds for six months in the amount applicable when the creditor’s lien attached.5

The Commission can envision no public policy that is served by the formality of6

recording a declaration in such circumstances. The creditor cannot prevent the7

recording of the declaration. The proceeds exemption follows mechanically from8

the act of recording the piece of paper. The specific amount of the voluntary pro-9

ceeds exemption depends on the fortuity of the order in which the debtor and the10

creditor record their respective papers. The recording has no relation to any other11

act. It is not reviewed and notice is not given. It is not subject to contest at the time12

of recording. The protection of voluntary sale proceeds depends solely on the arbi-13

trary factor of whether the debtor has remembered to record a paper, a paper which14

will then clutter up the public records for years, since it describes as a homestead15

property that the debtor intends to sell shortly after the declaration is recorded.16

The justification for the reforms of the old homestead declaration, which resulted17

in the modern automatic homestead exemption, apply as well to the exemption of18

proceeds. Since a prior judgment lien does not prevent recording a homestead dec-19

laration with its attendant voluntary sale proceeds exemption, the proceeds exemp-20

tion should be incorporated into the automatic homestead exemption. The better21

procedure is the general one — proceeds of a voluntary sale are exempt for six22

months following sale and the burden is on the debtor to prove the exemption and23

trace the proceeds.29 Consistent with general principles,30 the exemption amount24

would be determined under the law in effect at the time the judgment creditor’s25

lien attached to the homestead.26

An important limitation on the proceeds exemption should be codified. The pur-27

pose of the proceeds exemption is to enable the judgment debtor to substitute one28

home for another without losing the exemption.3129

3. Relation-back of homestead declaration. Section 704.960(b) provides a30

portability feature, permitting the debtor to record a homestead declaration on31

property acquired with proceeds from a sale of a declared homestead and continue32

the original recording priority in the new homestead. This applies to any exempt33

homestead proceeds, whether from voluntary or forced sale, or reimbursement34

28. Section 703.050. See also Section 703.060 (liens deemed granted by statute in recognition of power
of state to repeal, alter, or add to exemptions).

29. For the general rules applicable to proceeds exemptions, see, e.g., Sections 703.030 (manner of
claiming exemptions; effect of failure to claim), 703.080 (tracing exempt funds).

30. See Section 703.100.

31. Thorsby v. Babcock, 36 Cal. 2d 202, 205, 222 P. 2d 863 (1950); Ortale v. Mulhern, 58 Cal. App. 3d.
861, 864, 130 Cal. Rptr. 277 (1976).
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from insurance, so long as the new declaration is recorded within the six-month1

period during which proceeds are protected.2

This feature also permits the debtor to lock in the opportunity to take advantage3

of later statutory increases in the homestead exemption amounts.32 A person who4

records a homestead declaration before a creditor’s lien attaches can preserve that5

priority and receive the benefit of increased exemptions in proceeds and in a home6

purchased with exempt proceeds.337

The general rule is that the amount of an exemption is determined under the law8

in effect when the creditor’s lien attached to the property.34 The general rule9

should be applied to homesteads, independent of the fortuity of whether a home-10

stead declaration may have been filed.11

4. Continuation of homestead after death. Section 704.995 provides that the pro-12

tection of the declared homestead from a creditor having an attachment lien, exe-13

cution lien, or judgment lien continues after the death of the declared homestead14

owner if the dwelling was the principal dwelling of the surviving spouse or a15

member of the decedent’s family to whom an interest in the dwelling passes. But16

subdivision (c) provides that the amount of the exemption is determined under17

Section 704.730 in the general procedure, depending on the circumstances of the18

case at the time the amount is required to be determined.35 Where special protec-19

tion of the family home is appropriate, the probate homestead is the better proce-20

dure.36 The existing homestead declaration procedure provides no meaningful,21

additional protection in the case of enforcement proceedings. Section 704.99522

harks back to a time when the declared homestead created important rights in23

homestead property that could descend to the survivors even contrary to a testa-24

mentary disposition.25

5. Prima facie evidence. Section 704.940 provides that the homestead declara-26

tion is prima facie evidence of the matters stated, which would include the state-27

ment that the property is the dwelling of the persons listed. Arguably, this provi-28

sion may put some burden on the judgment creditor in proceedings to sell a29

32. See Section 704.965.

33. The exact outcome depends on the interpretation given Section 704.965. If the creditor’s judgment
lien attaches as of the time it is recorded, notwithstanding the language of Section 704.950(c) concerning
what amount the lien attaches to (surplus over senior liens and homestead exemption amount under Section
704.730), then the problem is a simple one of comparing dates of recording. But if the creditor “obtains” a
lien only at the instant that the value of the homestead actually exceeds the value of liens senior to the
judgment lien at the time it was recorded plus the value of the homestead exemption — then the increased
exemption, by relation back, would have the effect of forestalling the time when the judgment lien could
attach to any surplus value. It is also assumed that Section 704.965 serves as an exception to the general
rule in Section 703.050 that the amount of an exemption is fixed as of the time the creditor’s lien is created
on the property.

34. Section 703.050.

35. This is in apparent conflict with the rule in Section 704.965.

36. See Prob. Code §§ 60, 6520-6528; Recommendation Relating to Probate Homestead, 15 Cal. L.
Revision Comm’n Reports 401 (1980).
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dwelling. However, the relevant procedural provisions do not shift the burden to1

the creditor as in the case of a current homeowner’s tax exemption or disabled vet-2

eran’s tax exemption.37 While the creditor is required to determine and report3

whether there is a homestead declaration38 as part of the procedure for obtaining4

an order for sale of a dwelling, no statutory duty results from the report.5

Problems Created by Separate Homestead Declaration Procedure6

The declared homestead provisions present a number of problems which should7

be weighed against any claimed advantages:8

1. Uncertainty. The one feature a declared homestead procedure based on filing9

with the county recorder should have is certainty — yet no one can rely on the10

validity of a homestead declaration. The filing sits in the records, but has little11

meaning unless it is tested in execution proceedings. The debtor may have moved12

to another residence or the debtor’s marriage may be dissolved. A later declaration13

as to different property acts as an abandonment pro tanto of the interest of the14

declarant.39 Thus, if spouses choose to live apart, and a second (or second and15

third) declaration is recorded, the first declaration becomes meaningless.16

2. Illusory protection. The homestead declaration provides little real protection17

for the family home. The most important protections (other than the voluntary sale18

proceeds exemption) are embodied in the automatic homestead. The homestead19

declaration can only give a false sense of security. In any event, most homeowners20

have no need for the protection, because most homeowners never become judg-21

ment debtors. If they do become judgment debtors, the statute should provide22

essential protections without regard to whether a paper may have been filed at23

some time in the past.24

3. Opportunity for misleading homestead declaration mills. Anyone who has25

purchased a house in recent years has probably received one or more solicitations26

from the homestead declaration mills.40 Experience with these dubious operations,27

whose broadsides typically misrepresent the law, impelled the Legislature to enact28

a consumer protection statute governing homestead filing services.41 One operator29

who ran afoul of the statute mailed approximately four million solicitations in a30

four-year period after enactment of the regulatory statute.42 Repeal of the declared31

37. See Section 704.780.

38. Section 704.760(b).

39. Section 704.990(a).

40. See Arthur M. Louis, Homesteading Scam Targets Unwary Homeowners, San Francisco Chronicle,
Sept. 19, 1994, at B1, B3. For a sample solicitation from Morse & Associates, see Memorandum 95-22,
Exhibit pp. 22-24, on file with California Law Revision Commission. The text of the solicitation is also set
out in Appendix A to In re Morse, 11 Cal. 4th 184, 900 P.2d 1170, 44 Cal. Rptr. 2d 620, 637-39 (1995).

41. See Bus. & Prof. Code § 17537.6.

42. See People v. Morse, 21 Cal. App. 4th 259, 25 Cal. Rptr. 2d 816 (1993); see also In re Morse, 11
Cal. 4th 184, 900 P.2d 1170, 44 Cal. Rptr. 2d 620 (1995).
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homestead would put an end to the opportunity to profit from causing undue alarm1

and confusing homeowners throughout the state.2

Satisfaction of Other Liens and Encumbrances3

The minimum bid in the sale of a homestead must include an amount sufficient4

to satisfy “all liens and encumbrances on the property.”43 This language is a relic5

surviving from the time when a judgment lien could not attach if there was a prior6

homestead declaration on record.44 The declaration acted as a complete shield7

against attachment and judgment liens, but it did not protect against execution on8

the homestead. Notwithstanding the prior homestead declaration, the creditor9

could seek enforcement of the money judgment through levy of a writ of execu-10

tion. If the property was sold on execution without a pre-existing judgment lien in11

favor of the creditor, there would be no junior liens practically speaking, and all12

the other liens on the property, whether mortgage liens, tax liens, other judgment13

liens, would be superior to the creditor’s execution lien. If the creditor had won the14

race to the recorder’s office and the judgment lien had attached first, then there15

would be no application of the “all liens and encumbrances” language, since the16

homestead exemption would not apply. Instead, the various lienors would have17

had an opportunity to engage in several rounds of redemptions, with junior lien-18

holders redeeming from their seniors and the debtor redeeming where possible.19

Under existing law, the “all liens and encumbrances” language can act in an20

arbitrary and unreasonable manner, benefiting the profligate or severely unlucky21

debtor. If a debtor has enough liens on the property, no creditor can reach it22

because any creditor would have to pay off all other liens, junior and senior, under23

the literal terms of the statute. On the other side of the coin, the home of a more24

responsible debtor would not be as hard to reach.25

Recommendations 4526

Continuation of voluntary sale proceeds exemption. The Commission proposes27

repealing the homestead declaration procedure and amending the automatic home-28

stead exemption to protect proceeds of a voluntary sale for a six-month period.29

Dwelling proceeds would be exempt to the extent traceable in deposit accounts30

and cash or its equivalent, with the burden on the exemption claimant to prove the31

exemption.32

Limitation on use of proceeds. Exempt proceeds would be held as agreed by the33

debtor and creditor or deposited in a controlled account, subject to the limitation34

that the funds could be applied only to a new qualifying homestead or to satisfac-35

43. Section 704.800.

44. See discussions of prior law in Tentative Recommendation Proposing the Enforcement of Judgments
Law, 15 Cal. L. Revision Comm’n Reports 2001, 2094 (1980); Adams, Homestead Legislation in Cali-
fornia, 9 Pac. L.J. 723 (1978); Taylor v. Madigan, 53 Cal. App. 3d 943, 126 Cal. Rptr. 376 (1975).

45. Additional technical revisions would also be made. These changes are noted in the Comments to the
sections in the proposed legislation, infra.
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tion of the judgment. This rule is consistent with the purpose of the exemption to1

protect a home for the debtor and the debtor’s family. During the six-month2

period, the exempt fund would continue to be subject to unsatisfied liens on the3

homestead.4

Priority treatment of support enforcement. The proceeds from a voluntary sale of5

a homestead should presumptively be subject to enforcement of judgments for6

child, family, or spousal support. However, if a support obligor has other obliga-7

tions for child, family, or spousal support, the support obligor should be able to8

seek a court order on noticed motion for an equitable determination of the extent to9

which the exemption should apply.4610

Elimination of “all liens and encumbrances” rule. The statute should be revised11

to require satisfaction of senior liens and encumbrances, rather than all liens and12

encumbrances on the property, and junior liens would be extinguished, consistent13

with the general rule applicable to execution sales.14

46. This proposal rectifies a confusing aspect of the existing statutes. Under general exemption rules
provided in Section 703.070, exemptions apply to enforcement of child, family, or spousal support unless
the support obligee obtains an order for the equitable determination of the extent to which the exemption
can be applied to the support obligation. However, under Section 704.950(b), a homestead declaration does
not apply to a judgment lien created by recording a support judgment. The full implications of this section
are unclear, but it has been interpreted in practice to mean that there is no exemption of proceeds of a vol-
untary sale of a homestead.
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PR OPOSE D L E GISL AT ION

Bus. & Prof. Code § 17537.6 (repealed). Homestead filing service regulation1

SECTION 1. Section 17537.6 of the Business and Professions Code is repealed.2

17537.6. (a) It is unlawful for any person to make any untrue or misleading3

statements in any manner in connection with the offering or performance of a4

homestead filing service. For the purpose of this section, an “untrue or misleading5

statement” means and includes any representation that any of the following is true:6

(1) The preparation or recordation of a homestead declaration will in any manner7

prevent the forced sale of a judgment debtor’s dwelling.8

(2) The preparation or recordation of a homestead declaration will prevent the9

foreclosure of a mortgage, deed of trust, or mechanic’s lien.10

(3) Any of the provisions relating to the homestead exemption set forth in11

Article 4 (commencing with Section 704.710) of Chapter 4 of Division 2 of Title 912

of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure are available only to persons who prepare13

or record a homestead declaration.14

(4) A homestead declaration is in any way related to the obtaining of any15

applicable homeowner’s exemption to real property taxes.16

(5) The preparation or recordation of a homestead declaration is required by law17

in any manner.18

(6) The offeror of the homestead filing service has a file or record covering a19

person to whom a solicitation is made.20

(7) The offeror of the homestead filing service is, or is affiliated with, any21

charitable or public service entity unless the offeror is, or is affiliated with, a22

charitable organization which has qualified for a tax exemption under Section23

501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.24

(8) The offeror of the homestead filing service is, or is affiliated with, any25

governmental entity. A violation of this paragraph includes, but is not limited to,26

the following:27

(A) The misleading use of any governmental seal, emblem, or other similar28

symbol.29

(B) The use of a business name including the word “homestead” and the word30

“agency,” “bureau,” “department,” “division,” “federal,” “state,” “county,” “city,”31

“municipal,” “California,” or “United States,” or the name of any city, county, city32

and county, or any governmental entity.33

(C) The use of an envelope that simulates an envelope containing a government34

check, tax bill, or government notice or an envelope which otherwise has the35

capacity to be confused with, or mistaken for, an envelope sent by a governmental36

entity.37

(b)(1) It is unlawful to offer to perform a homestead filing service without38

making the following disclosure:39
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THIS HOMESTEAD FILING SERVICE IS NOT ASSOCIATED WITH ANY1

GOVERNMENT AGENCY.2

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO RECORD A HOMESTEAD DECLARATION.3

RECORDING A HOMESTEAD DECLARATION DOES NOT PROTECT4

YOUR HOME AGAINST FORCED SALE BY A CREDITOR. YOU MAY5

WISH TO CONSULT A LAWYER ABOUT THE BENEFITS OF RECORDING6

A HOMESTEAD DECLARATION.7

IF YOU WANT TO RECORD A HOMESTEAD, YOU CAN FILL OUT A8

HOMESTEAD DECLARATION FORM BY YOURSELF, HAVE YOUR9

SIGNATURE NOTARIZED, AND HAVE THE FORM RECORDED BY THE10

COUNTY RECORDER.11

(2) The disclosure specified in paragraph (1) shall be placed at the top of each12

page of every advertisement or promotional material disseminated by an offeror of13

a homestead filing service and shall be printed in 12-point boldface type enclosed14

in a box formed by a heavy line.15

(3) The disclosure specified in paragraph (1) shall be recited at the beginning of16

every oral solicitation and every broadcast advertisement and shall be delivered in17

printed form as prescribed by paragraph (2) before the time each person who18

responds to the oral solicitation or broadcast advertisement is obligated to pay for19

any service.20

(c) In addition to any other service, every offeror of a homestead filing service21

shall deliver each notarized homestead declaration to the appropriate county22

recorder for recordation as soon as needed or required by a homestead declarant,23

but no later than 10 days after the homestead declaration is notarized. The offeror24

of the homestead filing service shall pay all fees charged in connection with the25

notarization and recordation of the homestead declaration.26

(d) No offeror of a homestead filing service shall charge, demand, or collect any27

money until after the homestead declaration is recorded. The total amount charged,28

demanded, or collected by an offeror of a homestead filing service, including all29

fees for notarization and recordation, shall not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25).30

(e) For the purposes of this section, the following definitions apply:31

(1) “Homestead filing service” means any service performed or offered to be32

performed for compensation in connection with the preparation or completion of a33

homestead declaration or in connection with the assistance in any manner of34

another person to prepare or complete a homestead declaration. “Homestead filing35

service” does not include any service performed by an attorney at law authorized36

to practice in this state for a client who has retained that attorney or an employee37

of that attorney acting under the attorney’s direction and supervision.38

(2) A “homestead declaration” has the meaning described in Article 539

(commencing with Section 704.910) of Chapter 4 of Division 2 of Title 9 of Part 240

of the Code of Civil Procedure.41

– 11 –



Staff Draft Recommendation • October 4, 1999

Comment. Former Section 17537.6 is repealed because it is not necessary in view of the repeal1
of the homestead declaration procedure. See also Code Civ. Proc. § 694.090 (effect of homestead2
declaration under former law).3

Code Civ. Proc. § 487.025 (repealed). Right to attach declared homestead4

SEC. 2. Section 487.025 of the Code of Civil Procedure is repealed.5

487.025. (a) The recording of a homestead declaration (as defined in Section6

704.910) does not limit or affect the right of a plaintiff to attach the declared7

homestead described in the homestead declaration, whether the homestead8

declaration is recorded before or after the declared homestead is attached.9

(b) An attachment lien attaches to a homestead (as defined in Section 704.710)10

in the amount of any surplus over the total of the following:11

(1) All liens and encumbrances on the homestead at the time the attachment lien12

is created.13

(2) The homestead exemption set forth in Section 704.730.14

(c) Nothing in subdivision (a) or (b) limits the right of the defendant to an15

exemption under subdivision (b) of Section 487.020.16

(d) Notwithstanding subdivision (b), a homestead (as defined in Section17

704.710) is exempt from sale to the extent provided in Section 704.800 when it is18

sought to be sold to enforce the judgment obtained in the action in which the19

attachment was obtained.20

Comment. Section 487.025 is repealed because it is not necessary in view of the repeal of the21
homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead declaration22
under former law).23

Code Civ. Proc. § 694.090 (amended). Effect of homestead declaration24

SEC. 3. Section 694.090 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:25

694.090. On and after the operative date January 1, 2001, a declaration of26

homestead made under prior law pursuant to Title 5 (commencing with Section27

1237) of Part 4 of Division 2 of the Civil Code is effective only to the extent28

provided in or Article 5 (commencing with Section 704.910) of Chapter 4 of29

Division 2 of this code is ineffective.30

Comment. Section 694.090 is amended to reflect the repeal of the homestead declaration31
procedure in Sections 704.910-704.995. The homestead exemption is governed by Sections32
704.710-704.860. The protection of voluntary sale proceeds under the former homestead33
declaration procedure is continued in Section 704.720.34

Code Civ. Proc. § 703.145 (added). Homestead exemption in bankruptcy35

SEC. 4. Section 703.145 is added to the Code of Civil Procedure, to read:36

703.145. For the purpose of subdivision (a) of Section 703.140, the amount of37

and qualifications for the homestead exemption shall be determined under Article38

4 (commencing with Section 704.710) without regard to the procedural rules, the39

rules governing the rights of judgment creditors, and other limitations and40

conditions provided by that article.41
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Comment. Section 703.145 is new. This section is intended to avoid problems in applying the1
state homestead exemption in bankruptcy pursuant to Section 703.140. Substantive rules are2
applied but not procedural rules, since the procedural rules are designed for use in state money3
judgment enforcement proceedings. For bankruptcy purposes, only the substantive rules4
governing the homestead exemption are borrowed. Thus, the amount of the exemption is5
determined based on the bankrupt’s personal circumstances under Section 704.730. If proceeds6
are claimed as exempt in bankruptcy proceedings, the protection provided in Section 704.7207
would apply, but is not limited to six months or for the purpose of purchasing another qualifying8
homestead. Similarly, the rules concerning creditors’ rights and agreements between debtors and9
creditors should not apply in the bankruptcy context.10

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.720 (amended). Homestead exemption11

SEC. 5. Section 704.720 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:12

704.720. (a) A homestead is exempt from enforcement of a money judgment as13

provided in this article and is exempt from sale under this division to the extent14

provided in Section 704.800.15

(b) The proceeds from a disposition of a homestead are exempt for the purpose16

of purchasing another qualifying homestead under the following conditions:17

(1) If a homestead is sold under this division or is damaged or destroyed or is18

acquired for public use, the proceeds of sale or of insurance or other19

indemnification for damage or destruction of the homestead or the proceeds20

received as compensation for a homestead acquired for public use are exempt in21

the amount of the homestead exemption provided in Section 704.730. The22

proceeds are exempt for a period of six months after the time date the proceeds are23

actually received by or become payable in an amount certain to the judgment24

debtor, whichever is the earlier date except that, if a homestead exemption is25

applied to other property of the judgment debtor or the judgment debtor’s spouse26

during that period, the proceeds thereafter are not exempt.27

(2) If a homestead is voluntarily sold, or otherwise sold in a manner not28

described in paragraph (1), the proceeds of sale are exempt in the amount of the29

homestead exemption provided in Section 704.730 for a period of six months after30

the date of sale.31

(3) If a homestead exemption is applied to other property of the judgment debtor32

or the judgment debtor’s spouse during the six-month period provided in33

paragraph (1) or (2), the proceeds exemption terminates.34

(c) If the judgment debtor and spouse of the judgment debtor reside in separate35

homesteads, only the homestead of one of the spouses is exempt and only the36

proceeds of the exempt homestead are exempt.37

(d) The exemption of proceeds provided in paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) does38

not apply to the enforcement of a judgment for child, family, or spousal support,39

unless the judgment debtor has other obligations for child, family, or spousal40

support and obtains an order, on noticed motion, that all or part of the proceeds are41

exempt. In making this determination, the court shall apply the standards provided42

in subdivision (c) of Section 703.070.43

– 13 –



Staff Draft Recommendation • October 4, 1999

(e) Except as otherwise agreed by the judgment debtor and judgment creditor, if1

an exemption is claimed for proceeds under this section, the proceeds shall be held2

in a controlled deposit account, subject to the judgment creditor’s lien, and the lien3

on the dwelling shall be released. At any time during the applicable six-month4

exemption period provided in subdivision (b), the court shall, on noticed motion of5

the judgment debtor, make an order applying all or part of the proceeds to the6

purchase of another dwelling that qualifies for a homestead exemption under this7

article. Unless the judgment debtor purchases another dwelling that qualifies for a8

homestead exemption under this article during the six-month exemption period,9

the court, on noticed motion, shall order the proceeds applied to the satisfaction of10

the judgment.11

(f) The proper court for filing motions under this section is the court where an12

application for an order of sale of the dwelling would be made under Section13

704.750.14

Comment. Subdivision (a) of Section 704.720 is revised for clarity and for consistency with15
other exemption provisions. See, e.g., Sections 703.010, 704.010, 704.020.16

Subdivision (b) is amended to adopt as a general rule the exemption for proceeds of voluntary17
sales under former Section 704.960 (homestead declaration). Subdivision (b)(3) is generalized18
from the last clause of former subdivision (b) of this section. See also Section 703.080 (tracing19
exempt funds).20

Subdivision (d) is a new provision that implements the application of the general rule on21
equitable division of exemptions in Section 703.070 in a situation where the judgment debtor has22
multiple support obligees. Unlike the general rule, however, subdivision (d) places the burden on23
the judgment debtor to file the motion and seek the court order.24

Subdivision (e) provides a new procedure for claiming the proceeds exemption and restricting25
the availability of the funds to the purpose of acquiring a new homestead. Accordingly, during the26
six-month period during which proceeds are exempt, the money is held in a controlled account for27
the sole purpose of purchasing another homestead that qualifies under this article. The judgment28
creditor’s lien priority is preserved on the proceeds during the six-month period. If the proceeds29
have been levied upon after they were received by the judgment debtor, such as in a case where30
the debtor has deposited the proceeds in a deposit account, the general exemption procedure31
following levy of execution is applicable. See Section 703.510 et seq. The tracing rules in Section32
703.080 apply to determine the extent to which a fund contains the exempt proceeds from33
disposition of a homestead.34

Subdivision (f) specifies the proper court for proceedings under this section.35

Revised Background Comment (1982). Subdivision (a) of Section 704.720 supersedes former36
Civil Code Section 1240 (providing for a declared homestead) and former Code of Civil37
Procedure Sections 690.3 and 690.31(a) (providing for a claimed dwelling exemption). Unlike the38
former provisions, Section 704.720 does not specify the interest that is protected and does not39
limit the homestead in a leasehold to a long-term lease; any interest sought to be reached by the40
judgment creditor in the homestead may be entitled to the exemption. The homestead exemption41
does not apply where a lien on the property other than an enforcement lien is being foreclosed.42
See Section 703.010.43

Subdivision (b)(1) provides an exemption for proceeds of an execution sale of a homestead, for44
proceeds from insurance or indemnification for the damage or destruction of a homestead, and for45
an eminent domain award or proceeds of a sale of the homestead for public use. Subdivision46
(b)(1) supersedes portions of former Civil Code Sections 1256 and 1265 and of former Code of47
Civil Procedure Sections 690.8 and 690.31(k). The exemption for insurance proceeds was not48
found in former law. But see Houghton v. Lee, 50 Cal. 101, 103 (1875) (insurance proceeds for49
destruction of declared homestead exempt).50
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Subdivision (c) is new. The spouses may select which of the homesteads is exempt. If the1
spouses are unable to agree, the court determines which homestead is exempt. See Section2
703.110 (application of exemptions to marital property). Note that a married person may, after a3
decree of legal separation or an interlocutory judgment of dissolution of marriage, be entitled to a4
homestead in his or her own right, and this right is not affected by subdivision (c). See Section5
704.710(d) (“spouse” defined) & Comment.6

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.760 (amended). Contents of application for sale of dwelling7

SEC. 6. Section 704.760 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:8

704.760. The judgment creditor’s application shall be made under oath, shall9

describe the dwelling, and shall contain all of the following:10

(a) A statement whether or not the records of the county tax assessor indicate11

that there is a current homeowner’s exemption or disabled veteran’s exemption for12

the dwelling and the person or persons who claimed any such the exemption.13

(b) A statement, which may be based on information and belief, whether the14

dwelling is a homestead and the amount of the homestead exemption, if any, and a15

statement whether or not the records of the county recorder indicate that a16

homestead declaration under Article 5 (commencing with Section 704.910) that17

describes the dwelling has been recorded by the judgment debtor or the spouse of18

the judgment debtor.19

(c) A statement of the amount of any liens or encumbrances on the dwelling, the20

name of each person having a lien or encumbrance on the dwelling, and the21

person’s address of such person used by the county recorder for the return of the22

instrument creating such the person’s lien or encumbrance after recording.23

Comment. Subdivision (b) of Section 704.760 is amended to delete the obsolete reference to24
the repealed homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead25
declarations under prior law). The other changes are technical, nonsubstantive revisions.26

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.780 (amended). Hearing27

SEC. 7. Section 704.780 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:28

704.780. (a) The burden of proof at the hearing is determined in the following29

manner:30

(1) If the records of the county tax assessor indicate that there is a current31

homeowner’s exemption or disabled veteran’s exemption for the dwelling claimed32

by the judgment debtor or the judgment debtor’s spouse, the judgment creditor has33

the burden of proof that the dwelling is not a homestead. If the records of the34

county tax assessor indicate that there is not a current homeowner’s exemption or35

disabled veteran’s exemption for the dwelling claimed by the judgment debtor or36

the judgment debtor’s spouse, the burden of proof that the dwelling is a homestead37

is on the person who claims that the dwelling is a homestead.38

(2) If the application states the amount of the homestead exemption, the person39

claiming the homestead exemption has the burden of proof that the amount of the40

exemption is other than the amount stated in the application.41

(b) The court shall determine whether the dwelling is exempt. If the court42

determines that the dwelling is exempt, the court shall determine the amount of the43
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homestead exemption and the fair market value of the dwelling. The court shall1

make an order for sale of the dwelling subject to the homestead exemption, unless2

the court determines that the sale of the dwelling would not be likely to produce a3

bid sufficient to satisfy any part of the amount due on the judgment pursuant to4

Section 704.800. The order for sale of the dwelling subject to the homestead5

exemption shall specify the amount of the proceeds of the sale that is to be6

distributed pursuant to Section 704.850 to each person having a lien or7

encumbrance on the dwelling that is superior to the judgment creditor’s lien, and8

shall include the name and address of each such person. Subject to the provisions9

of this article, the sale is governed by Article 6 (commencing with Section10

701.510) of Chapter 3. If the court determines that the dwelling is not exempt, the11

court shall make an order for sale of the property in the manner provided in Article12

6 (commencing with Section 701.510) of Chapter 3.13

(c) The court clerk shall transmit a certified copy of the court order (1) to the14

levying officer and (2) if the court making the order is not the court in which the15

judgment was entered, to the clerk of the court in which the judgment was entered.16

(d) The court may appoint a qualified appraiser to assist the court in determining17

the fair market value of the dwelling. If the court appoints an appraiser, the court18

shall fix the compensation of the appraiser in an amount determined by the court to19

be reasonable, not to exceed similar fees for similar services in the community20

where the dwelling is located.21

Comment. Subdivision (b) of Section 704.780 is amended to make clear that only liens with22
priority over the judgment creditor’s lien, upon which the property is to be sold, are entitled to23
satisfaction from the proceeds of sale. See also Sections 704.800 (minimum bid), 704.85024
(distribution of proceeds).25

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.800 (amended). Minimum bid at sale of homestead26

SEC. 8. Section 704.800 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:27

704.800. (a) If no bid is received at a sale of a homestead pursuant to a court28

order for sale that exceeds the amount of the homestead exemption plus any29

additional amount necessary to satisfy all liens and encumbrances on the property,30

including but not limited to any attachment or judgment lien, that are superior to31

the judgment creditor’s lien, the homestead shall not be sold and shall be released32

and is not thereafter subject to a court order for sale upon subsequent application33

by the same judgment creditor for a period of one year after the date set for the34

sale.35

(b) If no bid is received at the sale of a homestead pursuant to a court order for36

sale that is 90 percent or more of the fair market value determined pursuant to37

Section 704.780, the homestead shall not be sold unless the court, upon motion of38

the judgment creditor, does one of the following:39

(1) Grants permission to accept the highest bid that exceeds the amount of the40

minimum bid required by subdivision (a).41

(2) Makes a new order for sale of the homestead.42
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Comment. Subdivision (a) of Section 704.800 is amended to provide that only liens and1
encumbrances senior to the judgment creditor’s lien, taking into account any relation back, are2
entitled to satisfaction out of the proceeds from the sale of a dwelling under this article. See also3
Sections 704.780 (hearing), 704.850 (distribution of proceeds).4

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.840 (amended). Costs incurred in sale proceedings5

SEC. 9. Section 704.840 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:6

704.840. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), the judgment creditor is7

entitled to recover reasonable costs incurred in a proceeding under this article.8

(b) If no bid is received at a sale of a homestead pursuant to a court order for sale9

that exceeds the amount of the homestead exemption plus any additional amount10

necessary to satisfy all liens and encumbrances on the property that are superior to11

the judgment creditor’s lien, the judgment creditor is not entitled to recover costs12

incurred in a proceeding under this article or costs of sale.13

Comment. Section 704.840 is amended for consistency with Section 704.800.14

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.850 (amended). Distribution of proceeds of sale of homestead15

SEC. 10. Section 704.850 of the Code of Civil Procedure is amended to read:16

704.850. (a) The levying officer shall distribute the proceeds of sale of a17

homestead in the following order:18

(1) To the discharge of all liens and encumbrances, if any, on the property that19

are superior to the judgment creditor’s lien.20

(2) To the judgment debtor in the amount of any applicable exemption of21

proceeds pursuant to Section 704.720.22

(3) To the levying officer for the reimbursement of the levying officer’s costs for23

which an advance has not been made.24

(4) To the judgment creditor to satisfy the following:25

(A) First, costs and interest accruing after issuance of the writ pursuant to which26

the sale is conducted.27

(B) Second, the amount due on the judgment with costs and interest, as entered28

on the writ.29

(5) To any other judgment creditors who have delivered writs of execution to the30

levying officer, accompanied by instructions to levy on the proceeds of sale, in the31

amounts to which the persons are entitled in order of their respective priorities.32

(6) To the judgment debtor in the amount remaining.33

(b) Sections 701.820 and 701.830 apply to distribution of proceeds under this34

section.35

Comment. Subdivision (a)(1) of Section 704.850 is amended for consistency with Section36
704.800. The words “if any” are deleted as surplus. A new subdivision (a)(5) is added to permit37
junior creditors whose liens will be extinguished pursuant to Section 704.860 to seek satisfaction38
from any excess proceeds at the sale, by delivering a writ of execution and levy instructions to the39
levying officer. This procedure is consistent with the general rule in Section 701.810(g)40
(distribution of proceeds of sale or collection). Note that under the rule in Section 704.800(a) the41
items listed in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subdivision (a) are of equal priority since the homestead42
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may not be sold unless all senior liens and encumbrances are satisfied and the judgment debtor1
receives the full amount of the applicable exemption.2

Revised Background Comment (1982). Subdivision (a) of Section 704.850 continues the3
priority of distribution of proceeds provided by subdivision (j) of former Section 690.31 and of4
former Civil Code Section 1255. This section is an exception to the general rules on distribution5
of proceeds provided by Section 701.810. Liens and encumbrances required to be satisfied under6
subdivision (a)(1) include not only preferred labor claims to be satisfied pursuant to Section 12067
and the amount of any state tax lien (as defined in Government Code Section 7162) but also any8
other liens and encumbrances with priority over the judgment creditor’s lien.9

Subdivision (b) makes clear that the general provisions governing the time for distributing10
proceeds (Section 701.820) and the resolution of conflicting claims to proceeds (Section 701.830)11
apply to the distribution of proceeds from the sale of a homestead.12

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.860 (added). Extinction of liens upon sale13

SEC. 11. Section 704.860 is added to the Code of Civil Procedure, to read:14

704.860. If property is sold pursuant to this article, the lien under which it is sold15

and any liens subordinate thereto on the property sold are extinguished.16

Comment. Section 704.860 is new. The rule in this section applicable to homestead sales is17
consistent with the general rule under Section 701.630.18

Code Civ. Proc. §§ 704.910-704.995 (repealed). Declared homestead19

SEC. 12. Article 5 (commencing with Section 704.910) of Chapter 4 of Division20

2 of Title 9 of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure is repealed.21

Note. The text of Sections 704.910-704.995 is set out infra. See material under “Comments to22
Repealed Sections.”23

Gov’t Code § 7170 (technical amendment). Attachment of tax lien24

SEC. 13. Section 7170 of the Government Code is amended to read:25

7170. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), a state tax lien attaches26

to all property and rights to property whether real or personal, tangible or27

intangible, including all after-acquired property and rights to property, belonging28

to the taxpayer and located in this state. A state tax lien attaches to a dwelling29

notwithstanding the prior recording of a homestead declaration (as defined in30

Section 704.910 of the Code of Civil Procedure).31

(b) A state tax lien is not valid as to real property against the right, title, or32

interest of any of the following persons where the person’s right, title, or interest33

was acquired or perfected prior to recording of the notice of state tax lien in the34

office of the county recorder of the county in which the real property is located35

pursuant to Section 7171:36

(1) A successor in interest of the taxpayer without knowledge of the lien.37

(2) A holder of a security interest.38

(3) A mechanic’s lienor.39

(4) A judgment lien creditor.40

(c) A state tax lien is not valid as to personal property against:41
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(1) The holder of a security interest in the property whose interest is perfected1

pursuant to Section 9303 of the Commercial Code prior to the time the notice of2

the state tax lien is filed with the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 7171.3

(2) Any person (other than the taxpayer) who acquires an interest in the property4

under the law of this state without knowledge of the lien or who perfects an5

interest in accordance with the law of this state prior to the time that the notice of6

state tax lien is filed with the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 7171.7

(3) A buyer in ordinary course of business who, under Section 9307 of the8

Commercial Code, would take free of a security interest created by the seller.9

(4) Any person (other than the taxpayer) who, notwithstanding the prior filing of10

the notice of the state tax lien:11

(A) Is a holder in due course of a negotiable instrument.12

(B) Is a holder to whom a negotiable document of title has been duly negotiated.13

(C) Is a bona fide purchaser of a security.14

(D) Is a purchaser of chattel paper or an instrument who gives new value and15

takes possession of the chattel paper or instrument in the ordinary course of16

business.17

(E) Is a holder of a purchase money security interest.18

(F) Is a collecting bank holding a security interest in items being collected,19

accompanying documents and proceeds, pursuant to Section 4210 of the20

Commercial Code.21

(G) Acquires a security interest in a deposit account or in the beneficial interest22

in a trust or estate.23

(H) Acquires any right or interest in letters of credit, advices of credit, or money.24

(I) Acquires without actual knowledge of the state tax lien a security interest in25

or a claim in or under any policy of insurance including unearned premiums.26

(J) Acquires any right or interest in property subject to a certificate of title statute27

of another jurisdiction under the law of which indication of a security interest on28

the certificate of title is required as a condition of perfection of the security29

interest.30

(5) A judgment lien creditor whose lien was created by the filing of a notice of31

judgment lien on personal property with the Secretary of State prior to the time the32

notice of state tax lien is filed with the Secretary of State pursuant to Section 7171.33

Comment. The second sentence of Section 7170(a) is deleted in view of the repeal of the34
homestead declaration procedure. See also Code Civ. Proc. §§ 688.030 (exemptions from35
enforcement of tax), 694.090 (effect of homestead declaration under former law), 704.85036
(satisfaction of liens upon execution sale of homestead).37

Prob. Code § 6528 (repealed). Declared homestead38

SEC. 14. Section 6528 of the Probate Code is repealed.39

6528. Nothing in this chapter terminates or otherwise affects a declaration of40

homestead by, or for the benefit of, a surviving spouse or minor child of the41

decedent with respect to the community, quasi-community, or common interest of42
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the surviving spouse or minor child in property in the decedent’s estate. This1

section is declaratory of, and does not constitute a change in, existing law.2

Comment. Section 6528 is repealed because it has no purpose in view of the repeal of the3
homestead declaration procedure. See also Code Civ. Proc. § 694.090 (effect of homestead4
declaration under former law). Repeal of this section has no effect on the ability of a surviving5
judgment debtor to take advantage of the homestead exemption provided in Code of Civil6
Procedure Sections 704.710-704.860.7
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COMMENTS TO REPEALED SECTIONS1

Code Civ. Proc. §§ 704.910-704.995 (repealed). Declared homestead2

Note. Sections 704.910-704.995 are set out below for reference purposes. A Comment to each3
section indicates its proposed disposition in the revised statute or its relation to the general4
homestead exemption provisions that supersede the homestead declaration procedure.5

Article 5. Declared Homesteads6

§ 704.910 (repealed). Definitions7

704.910. As used in this article:8

(a) “Declared homestead” means the dwelling described in a homestead9

declaration.10

(b) “Declared homestead owner” includes both of the following:11

(1) The owner of an interest in the declared homestead who is named as a12

declared homestead owner in a homestead declaration recorded pursuant to this13

article.14

(2) The declarant named in a declaration of homestead recorded prior to July 1,15

1983, pursuant to former Title 5 (commencing with Section 1237) of Part 4 of16

Division 2 of the Civil Code and the spouse of such declarant.17

(c) “Dwelling” means any interest in real property (whether present or future,18

vested or contingent, legal or equitable) that is a “dwelling” as defined in Section19

704.710, but does not include a leasehold estate with an unexpired term of less20

than two years or the interest of the beneficiary of a trust.21

(d) “Homestead declaration” includes both of the following:22

(1) A homestead declaration recorded pursuant to this article.23

(2) A declaration of homestead recorded prior to July 1, 1983, pursuant to24

former Title 5 (commencing with former Section 1237) of Part 4 of Division 2 of25

the Civil Code.26

(e) “Spouse” means a “spouse” as defined in Section 704.710.27

Comment. Former Section 704.910 is superseded by Section 704.710.28

§ 704.920 (repealed). Manner of selection of homestead29

704.920. A dwelling in which an owner or spouse of an owner resides may be30

selected as a declared homestead pursuant to this article by recording a homestead31

declaration in the office of the county recorder of the county where the dwelling is32

located. From and after the time of recording, the dwelling is a declared homestead33

for the purposes of this article.34

Comment. Former Section 704.920 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in35
Sections 704.710-704.860. See also Sections 694.090 (effect of homestead declaration under prior36
law), 704.710 (definitions).37
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§ 704.930 (repealed). Execution and contents of homestead declaration1

704.930. (a) A homestead declaration recorded pursuant to this article shall2

contain all of the following:3

(1) The name of the declared homestead owner. A husband and wife both may4

be named as declared homestead owners in the same homestead declaration if each5

owns an interest in the dwelling selected as the declared homestead.6

(2) A description of the declared homestead.7

(3) A statement that the declared homestead is the principal dwelling of the8

declared homestead owner or such person’s spouse, and that the declared9

homestead owner or such person’s spouse resides in the declared homestead on the10

date the homestead declaration is recorded.11

(b) The homestead declaration shall be executed and acknowledged in the12

manner of an acknowledgment of a conveyance of real property by at least one of13

the following persons:14

(1) The declared homestead owner.15

(2) The spouse of the declared homestead owner.16

(3) The guardian or conservator of the person or estate of either of the persons17

listed in paragraph (1) or (2). The guardian or conservator may execute,18

acknowledge, and record a homestead declaration without the need to obtain court19

authorization.20

(4) A person acting under a power of attorney or otherwise authorized to act on21

behalf of a person listed in paragraph (1) or (2).22

(c) The homestead declaration shall include a statement that the facts stated in23

the homestead declaration are known to be true as of the personal knowledge of24

the person executing and acknowledging the homestead declaration. If the25

homestead declaration is executed and acknowledged by a person listed in26

paragraph (3) or (4) of subdivision (b), it shall also contain a statement that the27

person has authority to so act on behalf of the declared homestead owner or the28

spouse of the declared homestead owner and the source of the person’s authority.29

Comment. Former Section 704.930 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in30
Sections 704.710-704.860.31

§ 704.940 (repealed). Right to convey or encumber not limited; evidentiary effect of32
homestead declaration33

704.940. A homestead declaration does not restrict or limit any right to convey34

or encumber the declared homestead. A homestead declaration, when properly35

recorded, is prima facie evidence of the facts therein stated, and conclusive36

evidence thereof in favor of a purchaser or encumbrancer in good faith and for a37

valuable consideration.38

Comment. Former Section 704.940 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in39
Sections 704.710-704.860. See also Section 704.780 (burden of proof in hearing on homestead40
exemption).41
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§ 704.950 (repealed). Attachment of judgment lien to homestead1

704.950. (a) Except as provided in subdivisions (b) and (c), a judgment lien on2

real property created pursuant to Article 2 (commencing with Section 697.310) of3

Chapter 2 does not attach to a declared homestead if both of the following4

requirements are satisfied:5

(1) A homestead declaration describing the declared homestead was recorded6

prior to the time the abstract or certified copy of the judgment was recorded to7

create the judgment lien.8

(2) The homestead declaration names the judgment debtor or the spouse of the9

judgment debtor as a declared homestead owner.10

(b) This section does not apply to a judgment lien created under Section 697.32011

by recording a certified copy of a judgment for child, family, or spousal support.12

(c) A judgment lien attaches to a declared homestead in the amount of any13

surplus over the total of the following:14

(1) All liens and encumbrances on the declared homestead at the time the15

abstract of judgment or certified copy of the judgment is recorded to create the16

judgment lien.17

(2) The homestead exemption set forth in Section 704.730.18

Comment. Former Section 704.950 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in19
Sections 704.710-704.860.20

§ 704.960 (repealed). Proceeds exemption after voluntary sale; reinvestment of proceeds of21
voluntary or involuntary sale and effect of new declaration22

704.960. (a) If a declared homestead is voluntarily sold, the proceeds of sale are23

exempt in the amount provided by Section 704.730 for a period of six months after24

the date of sale.25

(b) If the proceeds of a declared homestead are invested in a new dwelling26

within six months after the date of a voluntary sale or within six months after27

proceeds of an execution sale or of insurance or other indemnification for damage28

or destruction are received, the new dwelling may be selected as a declared29

homestead by recording a homestead declaration within the applicable six-month30

period. In such case, the homestead declaration has the same effect as if it had31

been recorded at the time the prior homestead declaration was recorded.32

Comment. Former Section 704.960 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in33
Sections 704.710-704.860. The proceeds exemption is continued in Section 704.720(b).34

§ 704.965 (repealed). Determination of amount of exemption35

704.965. If a homestead declaration is recorded prior to the operative date of an36

amendment to Section 704.730 which increases the amount of the homestead37

exemption, the amount of the exemption for the purposes of subdivision (c) of38

Section 704.950 and Section 704.960 is the increased amount, except that, if the39

judgment creditor obtained a lien on the declared homestead prior to the operative40

date of the amendment to Section 704.730, the exemption for the purposes of41
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subdivision (c) of Section 704.950 and Section 704.960 shall be determined as if1

that amendment to Section 704.730 had not been enacted.2

Comment. Former Section 704.965 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in3
Sections 704.710-704.860. The principle in former Section 704.965 is applicable under the4
general rule in Section 703.050 (exemptions in effect at time of lien govern).5

§ 704.970 (repealed). Effect of article on rights after levy of execution6

704.970. Whether or not a homestead declaration has been recorded:7

(a) Nothing in this article affects the right of levy pursuant to a writ of execution.8

(b) Any levy pursuant to a writ of execution on a dwelling (as defined in Section9

704.710) and the sale pursuant thereto shall be made in compliance with Article 410

(commencing with Section 704.710) and the judgment debtor and the judgment11

creditor shall have all the rights and benefits provided by that article.12

Comment. Section 704.970 is repealed as unnecessary following repeal of the homestead13
declaration procedure. The homestead exemption is now governed exclusively by Article 414
(commencing with Section 704.710) and related rules.15

§ 704.980 (repealed). Declaration of abandonment16

704.980. (a) A declared homestead may be abandoned by a declaration of17

abandonment under this section, whether the homestead declaration was recorded18

pursuant to this article or pursuant to former Title 5 (commencing with former19

Section 1237) of Part 4 of Division 2 of the Civil Code.20

(b) A declaration of abandonment shall be executed and acknowledged in the21

manner of an acknowledgment of a conveyance of real property. It shall be22

executed and acknowledged by a declared homestead owner or by a person23

authorized to act on behalf of a declared homestead owner. If it is executed and24

acknowledged by a person authorized to act on behalf of a declared homestead25

owner, the declaration shall contain a statement that the person has authority to act26

on behalf of the declared homestead owner and the source of the person’s27

authority.28

(c) The declaration of abandonment does not affect the declared homestead of29

any person other than the declared homestead owner named in the declaration of30

abandonment.31

Comment. The procedure for abandonment in former Section 704.980 is obsolete in view of32
the repeal of the homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead33
declarations under prior law).34

§ 704.990 (repealed). Abandonment of homestead by recording homestead declaration for35
different property36

704.990. (a) A declared homestead is abandoned by operation of law as to a37

declared homestead owner if the declared homestead owner or a person authorized38

to act on behalf of the declared homestead owner executes, acknowledges, and39

records a new homestead declaration for the declared homestead owner on40

different property. An abandonment under this subdivision does not affect the41
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declared homestead of any person other than the declared homestead owner named1

in the new homestead declaration.2

(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), if a homestead declaration is recorded3

which includes property described in a previously recorded homestead declaration,4

to the extent that the prior homestead declaration is still valid, the new homestead5

declaration shall not be considered an abandonment of the prior declared6

homestead.7

Comment. Former Section 704.990 relating to abandonment is obsolete in view of the repeal8
of the homestead declaration procedure. See also Section 694.090 (effect of homestead9
declarations under prior law).10

§ 704.995 (repealed). Continuation of protection after death of declared homestead owner11

704.995. (a) The protection of the declared homestead from any creditor having12

an attachment lien, execution lien, or judgment lien on the dwelling continues after13

the death of the declared homestead owner if, at the time of the death, the dwelling14

was the principal dwelling of one or more of the following persons to whom all or15

part of the interest of the deceased declared homestead owner passes:16

(1) The surviving spouse of the decedent.17

(2) A member of the family of the decedent.18

(b) The protection of the declared homestead provided by subdivision (a)19

continues regardless of whether the decedent was the sole owner of the declared20

homestead or owned the declared homestead with the surviving spouse or a21

member of the decedent’s family and regardless of whether the surviving spouse22

or the member of the decedent’s family was a declared homestead owner at the23

time of the decedent’s death.24

(c) The amount of the homestead exemption is determined pursuant to Section25

704.730 depending on the circumstances of the case at the time the amount is26

required to be determined.27

Comment. Former Section 704.995 is superseded by the homestead exemption procedure in28
Sections 704.710-704.860. The general homestead exemption applies with full force to the29
interest of the survivor, consistent with the rule in subdivision (c). Additional protection is30
provided by the probate homestead procedure. See Prob. Code §§ 6520-6527.31
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REVISED COMMENT1

Code Civ. Proc. § 704.710 (revised comment). Definitions2

Revised Background Comment (1982). Subdivision (a) of Section 704.710 supersedes the3
provisions of former law pertaining to the property that could be exempt as a homestead or4
dwelling. See former Civ. Code § 1237 (declared homestead); former Code Civ. Proc. §§ 690.35
(housetrailer, mobilehome, houseboat, boat, or other waterborne vessel), 690.31(a) (dwelling6
house). Subdivision (a) is intended to include all forms of property for which an exemption could7
be claimed under former law and any other property in which the judgment debtor or the8
judgment debtor’s spouse actually resides.9

Subdivision (b) continues the substance of former Civil Code Section 1261(2) except that the10
minor grandchild of a deceased spouse and a child or grandchild of a former spouse are included11
in the listing.12

Subdivision (c) is intended to preclude a judgment debtor from moving into a dwelling after13
creation of a judgment lien or after levy in order to create an exemption. Subdivision (c) also14
makes clear that, even though an abstract of judgment has been recorded to create a judgment15
lien, the existence of the lien does not prevent a homestead exemption on after-acquired property16
that is acquired as the principal dwelling using exempt proceeds. Subdivision (c) is an exception17
to the rule of Section 703.100 (time for determination of exemption).18

Subdivision (d) preserves the effect of former Civil Code Sections 1300-1304 (married19
person’s separate homestead). The effect of subdivision (d) is to permit each spouse to claim a20
separate homestead after entry of a judgment decreeing legal separation or of an interlocutory21
judgment of dissolution of the marriage, because subdivision (c) of Section 704.720 is not22
applicable.23

Revised Background Comment (1983). Section 704.710 is amended to delete “actually”24
which appeared before “resides” or “resided” in various provisions. The word “actually” is25
deleted to avoid a possible construction that a person temporarily absent (such as a person on26
vacation or in the hospital) could not claim a homestead exemption for the principal dwelling27
merely because the person is temporarily absent, even though the dwelling is the person’s28
principal dwelling and residence.29
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