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Subject: Memorandum 75-7 (Enforcement of Judgments)

Gentlemen,

This is a memo dealing with §§ 701.070, 7G1.080,
701.110, 703.020, 704.050 and 704.090.

1, The provisions for the enforcement of money judgments
apply to judgments entered in courts of this state either
either under C.C.P. §§ 664 and 1710.25 and not to judgments
of federal courts in this state. I would state this in
§ 701.020 by adding after judgment "entered in a court
of this state".

2, § 701.080(b)

I do not understand the reference to "minutes™.
Should this not be left to the Judicial Council?

3. § 704.050

704,050 (Manner of Levy) requires further study. The
last sentence puzzles me. Under present law certain per-
sonal property can only be reached by supplementary pro-
ceedings. The staff proposal recognizes this by new
Articles 3 and 8.

The last sentence was inserted to brldge the gap be-
tween the limited levy under the attachment statute and
the broader scope of leviable property required under
execution. As a temporary measure the statute retained
the state of the law as applied in Meacham v. Meacham,
262 C.A.2d 248, In my cpinion certain types of assets
which are not readily marketable should not be reached
by levy and sale at all. Therefore I recommend a re-

study and change of 704.050 as propesed.

4. Property subject to execution (§ 704.050)

§ 704.050 does not properly replace §§ 688 and £84.2.
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§ 688 determined what property was subjJect to execution.
It consisted basically of three classes:

a) property owned by the debtor at the time of the
execution levy,

b) property not cwned by the debtcr at the time of
the execution levy, but subjected to a Judgment
lien when it waglowned by the debtor,

¢} property not owned by the debtor at the time of
the execution levy, but subjected to attachment
when it was so owned. ’

The writ (§ 703.020) refers now only to class a) and b)
and omits class c¢).

Moreover, there 1s no proper harmonization between § 684.2
and the new proposals.

§ 704,070

Caption should read Levy on property in the possession of
or debts owing by third parties.

Life of writ of execution (§ T704.090)

I recommend a change in § 704.090.

. The law relating to return and re-issue ls very antiquated.
It dates from the days when the sheriff himselfl searched for
levliable property and when a return was necessary to proceed
by creditors' bill.

Since a levy under a writ, if validly made before return
day, 1s good for one year after issuance of the writ, I see
no reason why the writ should be returned before that time,
1f the execution 1s not completed before that time.

The law in other jurisdictions varles greatly (see appendix).
I suggest a system requiring the writ to be returned

a) within 5 days after a sale has been made thereunder;
b) after the expiration of one year from issuance;

¢) if the creditor so requests, whichever is the
earliest date.
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Synopsis of return days
for writs of execution

Jurisdiction & Standard Period Extensions ete.

Source

Alabama
Code, Tit. 7 §526

Alaska
Official Form 131
Stat. $§09.35.100

Arkansas
“Code, Tit. 7 §344

Arizona
Stat. §12-1555

Colorado
Code §77-1-12

Connectlcut

" Delaware

-

Code 35041

Florida
R.C.P. Form 1.914,
Rule 1.550

Georgla
Code, §39-125

Hawaili
Stat. §651-34

Within 90 days
from date of writ

No fixedipericd
Return day specified
in writ

Within 90 days
from date of

~ execution

Not less than 10 and
not more than 90 days
from receipt

Within 90 days from
date of 1ssue

Sixty days after
i1ssuance

Specified in writ

No return period

"during life of

Judgment

Returnable to next
term .

60 days from
issuance -

Unless sale pend-
ing on levy wlthin
return perlod

Return when
satisfied
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Jurisdiection & Standard Period Extensions ete.
Source ' .
11) Idaho Not less than 10 days
Code §11-103 and not more than 60

days from recelpt

12} Illinois Ninety dajs after date Execution and

Stat. ¢.77 §8 of issuance venditioni expo.
13) Indiana 90 days from date un- ,
Code §34-1-34-8 less creditor seeks .

shorter time

14) Iowa ’ .
Code § 626.16 70 days from date of Not applicable
issuance ‘ to garnishment
626.27
15) Kansas , 60 days from issuance
“Stat. §60-2401. - ‘
16) Kentucky
Rev. Stat. §u26.040 30-70 days from issuance .
cn fixed return day for -
writs
17) Loulsiana One year after lssuance
: Code of Civ. Proc.
§2294
18) Maine Three months after lssuance
Rev. Stat. §4651
19) Maryland Next term of court
“Stat. Art. 82 §k2 o
20) Massachusetts .
- = - Twenty years from
mGen. Stat. $235-23 issuance _
21) Michigan
- Stat. Ann. §600.6002 20-90 days after May complote pro-
recelved _ cess il levy with-

in that time
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20
25)
26)

27)
28)
29)

30)

31)

Jurisdiction &

Scurce

Minnesota
Stat. 3660.05

Mizsgsissippi
Stat. § 13

. Missourl

RoCo Po 76"0’"

Montana
Stat. $95-5804

Nebraska
“Rev. Stat. §25- 15“3

Nevada
Rev. Stat. §21.040

New Hampshire
"Rev. Stat. §528:02

New Jerse
Rule 01.50-1.

New Mexlico
Rev. Stat. §§26-1-16,
24-1-9 .

New York .
i C.P.L.R. §5230¢

-3-

Standard Period Extension ete.

60" days after May return after
receipt ) completion if
. levied within that
period

Pirst day of next
term, even if no
time to sell

- 30~90 days from date

of 1ssuance

10-60 days after receipt

Within 60 days from
1ssuance

10-60 days after _
recelpt : a

Next term 1f within
§ months, otherwise
6 months from date

3 months after issuance
or 30 days after sale

Within 60 days from
delivery to sheriff

60 days after issusance, May be extended

unless 1lncome execution by creditor's
attorney for
another 60 days,
subject to fur-
ther extensions
_if no other credi-

. tor delivers writ
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Jurisdiction & Standard Period Extensions etc.
Source
32) North Carolina Within 90 days

Rev. Stat. §1-310 from issuance

33)  North Dakota ' Within 60 days May complete sale
Cent. Code, after receipt ‘after return
§§28-21-07 ,

34) Qhio Within 60 days | Mandatory - See
Rev.Stat. §2329.53 from date. . Johnsen v. Graham

Lighter Corp. 83 Oh.
App. 489, 80 N.E.2d

690 _
35)  Oklahoma "~ Within 60 days
Rev.Stat. §12-802 from date
36)  Oregon . " Within 60 days
Rev.Stat. §23.060 from recelpt
37) Pennsylvania No levy after 90 May be reissued
Rules, 3106, 3120, days from lssuance,
3139 but levy remains valid .
for 6§ months. If no
sale within that time
levy 1s abandoned and
wrilt returnable
38) Rhode Island Six months from date
Rev.8tat. 39-25-20 of l1ssuance
39) . South Carolina No-return until ten
. Rev,.Stat. $%10-1703, years, but sheriff
10-1714 . must report at each
- term
40) ~ South Dakota Within 60 days after Extended by levy
- “Code, §%15-18-41 recelpt ) for another 60
15-18-37, "15-18-42 days and after

each further levy
or unsuccessful
sale ’



Jurisdiction &
Source

41) Tennessee

Code, 326-126

42) Texas
R. 521,_55“

43) Utah
R. 69c

84) Vermont

“Stat. §§2681, 2683

45) Virginia ,
Code, §§ 8-44,
8-u18 _

46) Washington
Stat. 96.04.050

§7) West Virginis
- Code, §§ 33-4-16,
38-4-18, R.C.P.
Rule 69(a)

i8) Wisconsin
3tat. 3% 272.06,
272.38(2)

49) Wyomin
§1-503

-5

Standard Period

First Monday after
expiration of 60
days from issuance

30, 60, or 90 days
from issuance as
requested

At any time within
2 months after receipt

60 days after. issue

As fixed by statute or
court. rule {formerly
30 days)

60 days after iasue

Returnable not less
than 30 days and no
more than 50 days
after 1ssuance as
directed by creditor

Within 60 days after
receipt

Within 60 days from
1ssuance

Extensions etc.

Venditioni exponas
extends time for
sale

-

Venditioni exponas
if unsold. Sub-
Ject to extension
Rule 6(b)

Untll sale 1if
levied within
60 days



